Autism Isn’t A Tragedy, Ignorance Is

I’m done mourning the loss of a “normal” child that Karter could have been. I have been mourning for Karter for the last 8 months and I’m done. I’m emotionally drained. I have decided to kick myself in the butt and accept it. For crying out loud I’m not the one that has to deal with not being able to talk, to not be able to show the right emotions for how I’m feeling, to not be able to eat certain textures of food because it is down right painful. I’m not the one that doesn’t know how to interact with other children, or know what he is feeling when he wanders away, or that he has no sense of stranger danger, or danger in general.

In fact I just read on the Huffington Post Todd Drezner’s: A Parent’s Guide to Responding to a Child’s Autism Diagnosis. He gives some helpful  guide lines that I would recommend everyone to read.

I have been trying to focus all my negative energy about Karter’s diagnosis into something positive, I signed up my family for the Walk Now For Autism Speaks 2012 and created a team in honor of Karter, we’re called Karter’s Cartel.  I have been educating my family and friends on Karter’s diagnosis and on vaccinations. I have lost some friends (pro-vaccine) and gained many more (anti-vaccine).

 

 

Leave a Reply

