Packing for Arizona

So any move is hard on anyone. Can you imagine my stress moving across country? How about Karter’s stress?

It has been an ugly couple of days. It’s only going to get uglier.

I wonder what is going on in his little head, what he is thinking.  Does he understand me when I tell him we are going to live in a new house. Will he understand it’s going to take 3 days to get to the new house? How about how he is going to be completely off his routine until Wednesday. Gosh I’m already dreading this drive, but Karter’s episodes are going to be bad I can feel it.

Anyways, I started packing up his room, taking all his familiar belongings and putting them in boxes, bags for the trip and a suit case, just in case I need to get to it ASAP during the drive. It is 7:21 and Karter is STILL sleeping. This is unheard of, however he had a really long and stressful day yesterday so maybe this extra sleep will be good for him.

Jaxson stayed his last sleepover at my parent’s house (they live right across the street). Jaxson is VERY excited to move. He has been a great helper and has helped me pack. I know he will be good on this trip, he has made the long drive before and loves to be in the car. However he did make it clear he would rather fly in an airplane. Me too Jax, Me too…. I had to explain if we flew we wouldn’t have our car and then couldn’t go anywhere. He giggled and told me that I was silly.

The boy’s beds and furniture will be disassembled today, Karter is really going to have a hard time with this one. After seeing all the toys packed away yesterday, he started to bang his head on a wall. I hurry up and grab him. Wrap my limbs around him, hold him tight, and rock while singing the Brown Bear Brown Bear book (I have it memorized). Hoping that he calms down for a second just so I can explain again what is going on. He hates to feel “out of the loop.”

I like to think of Karter’s episodes in Stages 1-5. When Karter’s episode reaches stage 5 there is no turning back and it’s going to take him hours to calm down. And even after he is calmed, the rest of his day is ruined. I cannot let him reach stage 5 no matter what.

My husband has installed a DVD player and TV’s for the kids to watch on the long trip. Lets hope this helps Karter. I also have SOME of his cars not his usually 2 cases. I bought a Rafi sing along CD combo pack to also sing along with, His 3 favorite books, coloring, and lots of snacks.

My family has been Gluten Free (GF) since November. We went GF because of Karter. We realized his episodes went down significantly when not fed Gluten. Being GF we don’t eat fast food. This is also going to be a bit of problem for the drive. Karter is very picky on what he eats and most fast food restaurants only have salads that are GF. And I could never get everyone a cheeseburger and him a salad. That is just cruel. I will be bringing a cooler with snacks and meals that are GF but I doubt it will last for three days. I guess if need be we could always pull over to eat at a restaurant. Come to think about it that would be the best bet. I know I can always get him a grilled chicken breast and mashed potatoes.

Karter woke up at 7:30am this morning. He has been upset and in an episode all morning because nothing is following his routine. I need to go but I’ll be blogging later tonight and I wont be blogging until after we reach our destination on Tuesday night.

As of this moment Karter is in stage 2 of his episode he now is picking up the empty toy bins and throwing them around my living room. This is his way of communicating he is not happy that all the toys are packed away. Next thing that will upset him is me picking up the bins and packing them. I’ll also have these episodes video tapped so you can see what is happening when he gets into episodes.

These videos are not intended for entertainment but for documentary purposes. Also if you think your child could somehow fit into the ASD you could refer to this blog or videos and then speak to your pediatrician about this.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Packing for Arizona

  1. Kendall says:

    I love your writing Jaime! You are an amazing Mother =) Can’t wait to see you. XoXo Kendall

Leave a Reply

