Signs, Diagnosis, Therapies

My name is Jaimie, I have a husband and 2 kids. Jaxson is 3 and is mainstream Karter is 2 and has PDD-NOS. Both boys are complete opposites. Both boys had vaccinations.

Signs:

People ask me,

“Do you think it was the vaccinations that caused Karter to have PDD?”

The answer to that question is I don’t know. I was naive, and ignorant when both boys were born. I listened to the doctors because, they’re doctors they wouldn’t hurt my children, they know whats best for them. The doctors and nurses didn’t tell me about the statistics of children getting diagnosed with Autism. The doctors and nurses pressured me to getting them, the  doctors and nurses would make me hold down my children while they gave them 5 vaccinations every 3 months.

Karter has always been different, ever since birth. I knew I wasn’t supposed to compare my children, but I couldn’t help it.

When he was a baby, he never cooed, he never wanted me to hold him he always wanted to be in the swing, I thought okay he likes the swing, but when this lasted until he was 9 months old. I knew I had to get rid of the swing. Karter would cry if he wasn’t in the swing 24/7 never wanted held or comforted.

Karter wouldn’t crawl until he was 13 months, he couldn’t walk until he was almost 2.

Karter had his last bottle on his first birthday, but then treated sippy cups like bottles and wouldn’t eat anything and only wanted milk in a sippy cup. All sippy cups were taken away on his 2nd birthday. Then he treated cups with straws like sippy cups/bottles and I took all those away shortly after his 2nd birthday. After all the cups were taken away he only could use little plastic cups, man we had lots of messes, but he started to eat.

Karter would never pay attention to his brother, he would prefer to be by himself. He didn’t show me affection until he was 9 months old, he didn’t show my husband, his father affection until October 2011. He doesn’t play with other kids but will observe them.

Karter has always been fascinated by toy cars. He started getting really big into them around his first birthday. He did and still does sits and examines his cars, color sorts them, this will go on for hours. He never really played with them. Never made them crash. If his brother Jaxson would start playing with the cars there would be a blood bath. Karter still wont share his cars, Jaxson has no interest anymore.

Karter would laugh at me when I would get upset at him, he would have deep belly laughs when I would try to discipline. I didn’t know he couldn’t decipher the emotions. He didn’t know I was mad, and here I thought he was being disobedient. When I wanted him to laugh he would have a blank look on his face. He never made eye contact for more than a second.

Karters tantrums were spiraling out of control. He started banging his head on the walls, floors, tables, pulling out his hair, biting himself. Then he started to pull my hair, bite, kick, and hit me.

I was reading discipline books watching the Super Nanny and was distraught why Karter was acting this way, when Jaxson never acted this way, I always got compliments on how well behaved he is.

Karter didn’t talk, Around 1 years old he said momma and dadda, but within 2 months it was like he forgot how to talk, and never agan said a word, as if they were lost.

Karter was also potty trained at 26 months. With no accidents for the past 6 months, and just recently has regressed back and once again is not potty trained.

In May 2011 my husband sat me down and explained how he thought Karter might have Autism. I was furious and in denial. How dare him say something was wrong with our baby. He was fine just needed more guidance and was going through the terrible two’s.

This put some stress on our marriage, him upset I wouldn’t get Karter evaluated and chose to be in denial, and me upset because he thought something was wrong.

His Pediatrician knew what was going on with Karter but never suggested getting him evaluated. In May 2011 I stopped getting him vaccinations per my husbands orders.

One appointment his pediatrician sat me down with the nurses and told me he needed his vaccinations and I MUST get them. I told them I’m sorry but my husband doesn’t want them anymore. They then turned to me and my mother and said it was considered “Child Abuse” for not vaccinating. So of course I didn’t want to get in trouble for “Child Abuse” and vaccinated without my husbands permission.

When Mike (my husband) got home that night and told him what the doctors told me, he was furious. He sat me down and made me watch documentaries on Autism and Vaccinations. The next day we found a new pediatrician and explained to her our fears that Karter was Autistic. She immediately agreed he was in the spectrum and sent us to a child neurologist, psychologist, and speech pathologist.

Those 3 doctors were going to cost us $1,300.00 after our insurance covered it. We didn’t care we wanted help. They couldn’t get us in until January 2012. He started Early On intervention per doctors orders for speech therapy. What do you know he started talking he now says a handful of words but mostly communicates through PECS, points and grunts, ASL, or getting it himself, We still deal with lots of tantrums or episodes.

Diagnosis:

After the meeting with the doctors they gave him his official diagnosis PDD-NOS in the Autism Spectrum Disorder.

What is an autism spectrum disorder?
Different people with autism can have very different symptoms.  Health care providers think of autism as a “spectrum” disorder, a group of disorders with similar features.  One person may have mild symptoms, while another may have serious symptoms.  But they both have an autism spectrum disorder.Currently, the autism spectrum disorder category includes:

  • Autistic disorder (also called “classic” autism)
  • Asperger syndrome
  • Pervasive Developmental Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (or atypical autism)

In some cases, health care providers use a broader term, pervasive developmental disorder, to describe autism.  This category includes the autism spectrum disorders above, plus Childhood Disintegrative Disorder and Rett syndrome.

Therapies:

Karter is to get one on one ST and OT. However our Insurance only covers 40 visits per year which wont even cover a quarter of the therapies he needs. Obviously its extremely expensive for these therapies that he NEEDS. Which leaves us moving back to Arizona. The state of Arizona has programs that Michigan doesn’t offer. The state helps pay for these therapy hours that the insurance wont cover.

I’m leaving February 5th which is a Sunday morning to start a long drive to AZ by myself with both boys. My husband will be staying back to finish selling our home and bringing our belongings. Luckily he works for a great company that transfers him when ever need be.

Why the rush? Karter is regressing, he is forgetting things like, going potty, eating, playing nicely, affection.

Jaxson doesn’t understand and its hard because he sees Karter having fits and he sees Karter not getting disciplined for every little fit he has, where as Mike and I are very strict on Jaxson. Karter has fits because that is his way of communicating.

Next time you’re in a store or out in public, and see a young child throwing a fit, don’t judge because they very well could be in the spectrum. Karter is smart and knows when he gets dirty look for not acting “normal” it just makes his episodes worse.

 

 

 

One thought on “Signs, Diagnosis, Therapies

  1. Brittany says:

    Jaimie words cannot express my feelings. Karter has the most wonderful parents fighting for him and I love you both<3

Leave a Reply

